The short version. The market split in two this year. The venture-backed platforms moved to branded drugs and now sell Wegovy and Zepbound with a membership on top, from $149 a month before the membership. The independents still sell compounded semaglutide at $99 a month. That $99 is real, and it is also the part of the market the FDA has spent two years closing: the shortages that made large-scale compounding lawful were declared over in October 2024 and February 2025, and in April 2026 the agency proposed excluding semaglutide, tirzepatide and liraglutide from the 503B Bulks List outright. Patient-specific compounding at a 503A pharmacy remains lawful. So the question is not whether $99 is genuine. It is what you are choosing when you take it.
01 / 06The market split in two, and the split is the story
A year ago almost every large weight-loss telehealth brand sold compounded semaglutide, because the drug was in declared shortage and compounding it was permitted at scale. Read the same brands today and the picture has inverted.
Hims sells branded. Its weight-loss page offers the Wegovy pill from $149 a month, the Wegovy pen from $199, and the Zepbound vial from $299, each marked “membership required”. The word “compound” does not appear on that page at all, and neither does any reference to 503A or 503B pharmacies. Ro sells branded too, listing Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Foundayo and Saxenda, with no mention of compounding anywhere on the page we read.
The independents did not follow. Trimi still publishes compounded semaglutide at $99 a month, and it is not alone in the wider market. That is not a rounding difference against a $149 branded pill, and it is not a like-for-like product either, which is the whole of what follows.
02 / 06What the five actually publish
| Provider | What it sells | Medication | Published from | What the headline price requires |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| compounded | Semaglutide | $99 / mo | 12-month commitment, $1,188 billed yearly | |
| compounded | Semaglutide, no commitment | $175 / mo | nothing | |
| compounded | Tirzepatide | $125 / mo | 12-month commitment, $1,500 billed yearly | |
| compounded | Tirzepatide, no commitment | $235 / mo | nothing | |
| Hims | branded | Wegovy pill | $149 / mo | membership, fee not included |
| Hims | branded | Wegovy pen | $199 / mo | membership, fee not included |
| Hims | branded | Zepbound vial | $299 / mo | membership, fee not included |
| branded | not published on the page read | not published | membership $39 first month, then $74 to $149; medication not included | |
| compounded | not published where we could read it | not published | not stated | |
| compounded | not published where we could read it | not published | not stated |
Read from each provider’s own live pages on 22 September 2026. Where a provider does not publish a figure on the pages we could reach, we say so rather than substituting an estimate. Hims refused automated requests, so its page was read in an ordinary browser.
03 / 06The headline price and the commitment are different facts
The $99 in that table is annual. Trimi’s $99 is a 12-month commitment billed yearly at $1,188, and the same medication without the commitment is $175. That is a 77% difference between the number on the banner and the number you pay if you want to stop in March, from one provider, on one page.
The branded side does the same thing in a different place. Hims prices are marked “membership required” and the footnote states the membership fee is not included, so $149 is a floor you add to rather than a total. Ro is the clearest case: the membership is $39 for the first month and $74 to $149 after that, and the page says in plain words that the cost of the GLP-1 medication is not included in it.
Is the price annual?
The lowest figure on this page is only available against a twelve-month commitment. Ask what the month-to-month price is before you compare anything.
Is the medication included?
On the branded platforms the advertised number is frequently the membership, the medication, or one of the two, and the pages do not always make clear which.
Compounded or branded?
These are different products under different law. A compounded drug is not an FDA-approved drug, and the provider should say so without being asked.
04 / 06Where compounded GLP-1 legally stands, with the dates
This is the part most product pages leave vague, and it is the part that decides whether the supply you are buying today still exists next year. The sequence, from FDA’s own documents:
| When | What happened | What it changed |
|---|---|---|
| October 2024 | FDA declared the tirzepatide injection shortage resolved | removed the shortage basis for compounding it at scale |
| February 2025 | FDA declared the semaglutide shortage resolved | same, for semaglutide |
| Through 2025 | Outsourcing Facilities Association litigation failed to secure preliminary injunctions | “essentially a copy” compounding of either drug is impermissible for 503A and 503B |
| 30 April 2026 | FDA proposed excluding semaglutide, tirzepatide and liraglutide from the 503B Bulks List | would remove the bulk-API route for outsourcing facilities; comments ran to 29 June 2026 |
| Today | Neither drug appears on the 503B Bulks List or the shortage list | patient-specific compounding at a 503A pharmacy, with a documented clinical need, remains lawful |
What that means in ordinary language. Compounded semaglutide is not an unlawful product, and a provider selling it is not necessarily doing anything wrong. What changed is the basis. Compounding is no longer justified by a shortage; it now has to rest on a documented clinical need specific to you, prepared by a state-licensed 503A pharmacy. That is a narrower door than the one the market walked through in 2023, and the April 2026 proposal is the agency moving to narrow it further.
05 / 06Who tells you that plainly, and who does not
Since the legal basis now rests on a distinction most buyers have never heard of, the single most useful thing a provider can do is state it without being asked. They do not all do it, and the differences are not small.
| Provider | Says “not FDA-approved” | Names 503A / 503B | Names the actual pharmacy |
|---|---|---|---|
| plainly | yes, 503A | yes, two named | |
| plainly, on the product page | no | no | |
| none found | no | no | |
| Hims | n/a, sells branded | n/a | n/a |
| n/a, sells branded | n/a | n/a |
Trimi sets the standard here and it is worth quoting. Its page says “Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. The FDA does not review them for safety, effectiveness, or quality,” and then names the pharmacies that make them: BelieveRx and GreenwichRx, state-licensed 503A. That is the most complete disclosure we found, because it lets a reader check the pharmacy rather than trust an adjective.
Henry Meds is softer on the home page and much stronger on the product page, and the difference is worth knowing. Its general wording is that the medications “are not FDA-approved in the same way as commercial drugs, but they do use FDA-approved ingredients”, which reads as a technicality, and the ingredients point is not the point: the FDA reviews finished products, not ingredient lists. On the product page itself the same company states that compounded medications “do not undergo pre-market review or an FDA-approval process”, that they may differ in efficacy, safety and side-effect profile, and that “data from clinical trials on FDA-approved medications should not be used to make assessments related to compounded medications.” That last clause is the strongest disclosure sentence we found on any provider in this category. ★ The lesson generalises: grade a company on the page where the money changes hands, not on the one written for search. On Strut Health we found no statement at all that compounded medication is not FDA-approved, only the phrase “pharmacy-compounded”.
06 / 06What this means for your decision
If you want the lowest genuine monthly cost and you are comfortable with a compounded product and an annual commitment, the two $99 offers are the floor of this market, and Trimi publishes a a no-commitment price beside it. If you want an FDA-approved product, you are buying branded from Hims or Ro and your real number is the medication plus a membership, not the figure on the card.
And whichever you choose, the disclosure column is the one to read first. A provider that tells you the regulatory position before you ask is a provider that will tell you when it changes, and on current evidence it is going to change again.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA clarifies policies for compounders as national GLP-1 supply begins to stabilize. Shortage resolution dates and the position on “essentially a copy” compounding.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA Proposes to Exclude Semaglutide, Tirzepatide, and Liraglutide on 503B Bulks List, 30 April 2026.
- Orrick. FDA Moves to Shut the Door on Large-Scale Compounding of GLP-1 Drugs. Litigation history.
- Epstein Becker Green. FDA Proposal Would Leave Semaglutide, Tirzepatide, and Liraglutide Off 503B Bulks List.
- Trimi. trytrimi.com. Prices, commitment terms, FDA disclosure and named 503A pharmacies, read 22 September 2026.
- Hims. Weight loss. Branded GLP-1 pricing and membership terms, read in-browser 22 September 2026.
- Ro. Weight loss. Membership pricing and the exclusion of medication cost, read 22 September 2026.
- Henry Meds. henrymeds.com. Compounding disclosure wording, read 22 September 2026. No monthly price published on the pages we could reach.
- Strut Health. struthealth.com. Read 22 September 2026. No FDA-approval statement and no monthly price found on the pages we could reach.
Is compounded semaglutide legal in 2026?
Patient-specific compounding at a state-licensed 503A pharmacy, based on a documented clinical need, remains lawful. What is not permitted is compounding a drug that is “essentially a copy” of an approved product, which is the basis most large-scale compounding relied on while the drugs were in shortage. Those shortages were declared resolved in October 2024 and February 2025.
Why is compounded semaglutide so much cheaper than Wegovy?
It is a different product. A compounded preparation is made by a pharmacy and is not an FDA-approved drug, so it carries neither the approval process nor the brand pricing. That is the whole of the price gap, and it is also the whole of the trade.
What should I ask a provider before paying?
Three things. What is the month-to-month price without an annual commitment. Whether the advertised figure includes the medication or only the membership. And which pharmacy compounds it, by name, so you can look the pharmacy up yourself.
Could compounded GLP-1 stop being available?
The federal direction of travel is toward narrowing it. The April 2026 proposal would exclude semaglutide, tirzepatide and liraglutide from the 503B Bulks List, which is the route outsourcing facilities use to compound from bulk ingredient. A proposal is not a final rule, and 503A patient-specific compounding is a separate route, so this is a risk to weigh rather than a date to plan around.