The short version. Enclomiphene is not testosterone. It is a selective oestrogen receptor modulator that signals your own body to make more testosterone, which is why it appeals to men who want to keep their fertility. It is sold widely online, between $42 and $199 a month depending on who you ask, which dose you need, and whether a membership sits on top of the figure they advertise. It has also never been approved by the FDA for any indication, it failed to clear three times through 2015, and after a 2022 advisory committee vote it was left off the 503A Bulks List. It reaches patients only through compounding pharmacies. None of that makes it unavailable. It does mean the product you are buying has no approved label behind it, and that is the thing worth knowing before the first payment.
01 / 06What enclomiphene actually is, and what it is not
Testosterone replacement gives you testosterone from outside. Your body notices the surplus and reduces its own production, which is why TRT commonly suppresses fertility and why coming off it is its own project.
Enclomiphene works the other way around. It blocks oestrogen receptors at the pituitary, the pituitary reads that as a shortage, and it raises the signals that tell the testes to produce more testosterone. The appeal is that the production stays yours. The trade is that it only works if the machinery downstream still works. If the testes themselves are the problem rather than the signal, there is nothing for a stronger signal to reach.
This is why our own TRT comparison records enclomiphene separately and says so plainly: it is not testosterone, and a provider who lists it under a testosterone heading is describing a goal rather than a molecule.
02 / 06What the six publish
| Provider | Published from | Dose priced | What is included | Grade stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $42 / mo | not published | medication only; membership $135 or $155 / mo is separate | compounded, not stated | |
| $79 / mo | 6.25 mg | consult, supervision, shipping, cancel anytime | compounded, not stated | |
| $99 / mo | 12.5 mg | as above | compounded, not stated | |
| $119 / mo | 25 mg | as above | compounded, not stated | |
| Hims | not published | not published | membership based | publishes an explainer, not a price |
| not published | not published | protocol based | not stated on the page read | |
| not published | not published | clinic model, labs separate | not stated on the page read | |
| not published | not published | labs-first coaching model | not stated on the page read |
Read from each provider’s own live pages on 22 September 2026. Where a provider does not publish a figure on the pages we could reach, we say so rather than substituting an estimate. Four of the six publish no monthly price at all without starting an intake. ⭐ Hone Health is the cheapest medication price here and the most misleading to read alone, because its $42 excludes a membership of $135 or $155 a month that every Hone patient pays.
03 / 06The dose question almost nobody prices
Enclomiphene is not one product at one strength. Strut Health publishes three, and the price moves with the dose: $79 at 6.25 mg, $99 at 12.5 mg, $119 at 25 mg. That is a 51% spread across the same medication from the same provider.
Now look at how the rest of the market quotes it. Four of the five providers here publish no monthly figure at all, and where a single “from” price does appear elsewhere in this category it is the lowest rung rather than the one most men end up on. On a dose-tiered medicine, the rung you actually need is set by your labs, not by the pricing page.
Which dose is that price?
A provider quoting one number for a medication sold at three strengths is quoting an entry point. Ask what the 12.5 and 25 mg prices are before you compare anything.
Are labs included?
Enclomiphene only makes sense against a baseline and a follow-up reading. Where labs are billed separately the monthly figure is not the cost of treatment.
Which pharmacy compounds it?
There is no approved commercial product, so every dose is made by a compounding pharmacy. A provider that will name the pharmacy is a provider you can check.
04 / 06Where enclomiphene legally stands, with the dates
This is the part the product pages leave out, and it is not a technicality. The sequence:
| When | What happened | What it means now |
|---|---|---|
| Through 2015 | FDA issued three Complete Response Letters on enclomiphene | the application did not clear; no approval followed |
| 2022 | Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted, and enclomiphene was left off the 503A Bulks List | it is not a substance formally cleared for bulk compounding under 503A |
| 14 May 2026 | It sits on FDA’s 503A Category 1, under evaluation list, as updated | under review rather than settled, in either direction |
| Today | No active NDA or IND appears in FDA’s public databases | there is no approved label, so there is no approved dose, indication or warning set |
What that means in ordinary language. Enclomiphene reaches patients only through compounding pharmacies, and it is prescribed off-label against no approved indication. That is not the same as illegal, and a clinician prescribing it is not doing anything improper. What it does mean is that the safety and efficacy review most people assume sits behind a prescription medicine has not happened for this one, and the category is under active evaluation rather than settled.
05 / 06Who tells you that plainly, and who does not
Given that the regulatory position is the single most decision-relevant fact about this drug, the useful question is which provider volunteers it.
| Provider | Says it is compounded | Says compounded is not FDA-approved | Names the pharmacy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hims | yes, in an explainer | yes, in an explainer | no |
| not stated on the page read | not stated on the page read | no | |
| refers to it as off-label | none found | no | |
| not stated on the page read | not stated on the page read | no | |
| not stated on the page read | not stated on the page read | no | |
| not stated on the page read | not stated on the page read | no |
Hims publishes the fullest explanation and the least pricing, and on this page that makes it the clearest of the five. It runs a dedicated article on whether enclomiphene is FDA-approved, which is more than most, while the monthly cost is behind an intake. On Strut Health we found the reverse: three clear prices, the word off-label, and no statement that compounded medication is not FDA-approved. Across Maximus, Defy Medical and Marek Health we found neither a published price nor a regulatory statement on the pages we could reach, which for a clinic model is ordinary rather than evasive, and still leaves you asking at the consultation.
06 / 06What this means for your decision
If you want a published price today, Strut Health is the only provider here that gives you one at all, and it gives you three, each tied to a stated dose. If you want the regulatory position explained before you buy, Hims explains it at length and nobody else here addresses it on the pages we could reach. No provider on this page does both well, which is the honest summary of a category selling an unapproved drug at scale.
The question to carry into any of those consultations is the same one, and it is not about price. It is whether your own labs point at a signalling problem, which is what this drug addresses, or at the testes themselves, which is what it cannot. That determines whether the cheapest option here is good value or no value.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503A. Category 1, under evaluation, as updated 14 May 2026.
- Uniformed Services University, Operation Supplement Safety. Clomiphene and Enclomiphene: Drugs, Not Dietary Supplements. Approval status and classification.
- Hims. Is enclomiphene FDA-approved? Read 22 September 2026.
- Strut Health. Enclomiphene price breakdown. Dose-tiered pricing, read 22 September 2026.
- Hone Health. TRT cost per month. Enclomiphene at $42 and the separate membership tiers, read 22 September 2026.
- Maximus. maximustribe.com and Defy Medical, defymedical.com. Read 22 September 2026; no monthly price published on the pages we could reach.
- Marek Health. marekhealth.com. Labs-first model, read 22 September 2026.
Is enclomiphene FDA-approved?
No. It has never been approved for any indication. FDA issued three Complete Response Letters through 2015, and no active application appears in the agency’s public databases. Every dose reaching a patient today is made by a compounding pharmacy and prescribed off-label.
Is enclomiphene the same as testosterone replacement?
No, and the difference is the reason people choose it. TRT supplies testosterone from outside and usually suppresses your own production and fertility. Enclomiphene signals your body to produce more of its own, which only works if the testes can still respond.
What does enclomiphene cost per month?
Published prices we could read run from $42 a month at Hone Health, medication only with a $135 or $155 membership charged separately, and $79 to $119 at Strut Health depending on dose. Four of the six providers here publish no monthly figure at all without an intake.
Why is it not on the 503A Bulks List?
A Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee vote in 2022 did not place it there. It currently sits in Category 1, under evaluation, as updated in May 2026, which means the question is open rather than answered either way.
What should I ask before paying?
Which dose the advertised price buys, whether baseline and follow-up labs are included or billed separately, and which compounding pharmacy prepares it, by name, so you can look the pharmacy up yourself.