We read the delivery terms of 11 US pharmacies on their own pages. Four publish what delivery costs before checkout; the rest leave it to the cart, to a sign-in, or to nobody.
The short answer, by situation:
Prescription delivery fees in 2026 range from nothing at Amazon Pharmacy and Capsule to $9.95 a delivery at Walmart, and at most pharmacies the number is simply not on the page. That gap matters more than any single fee, because the reader with three or four prescriptions is the one whose total depends on how the fee is charged: per delivery, per medication, or folded into a subscription.
Amazon Pharmacy lists "free delivery to your door" among its standard benefits and says it delivers "to physical addresses in all 50 US states", though not to P.O. boxes, APO addresses or Amazon Lockers. Same-day delivery is offered "in many locations", and Amazon shows its cost only inside each customer's Pharmacy Dashboard, so the free promise covers standard delivery, not the fastest option. Amazon Pharmacy accepts most insurance and calculates the copay at checkout, which is the strongest case for it: a free, insured, all-state default. Our Amazon Pharmacy review covers its drug prices.
Capsule is the most generous published offer for speed: "Free, same-day prescription delivery", with the line "Capsule is free to use. You only pay your copay on your medication." The catch is geography, not price. Capsule asks for a home or work ZIP code before it confirms delivery, and it accepts commercial insurance, Managed Medicaid and Medicare Part D, per its own FAQ.
Amazon RxPass is free delivery bundled into a subscription: "$5 a month, no matter how many meds you take", covering more than 50 generic medications, with "fast, free delivery to your door". It requires Prime, which is a separate cost, and is covered in the subscription section below.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Walmart is the one large chain that prints its prescription delivery fee: "Save the $9.95 delivery fee with Walmart+." Its pharmacy page adds that eligible prescriptions can be delivered "today with no order minimum fees", in the same drop-off as groceries, and that refrigerated prescriptions, including GLP-1s and insulin, are now delivered too. Because the fee is per delivery rather than per prescription, three prescriptions in one Walmart drop cost the same $9.95 as one.
Mark Cuban Cost Plus Drugs publishes its shipping through its public pricing API, where the field cash_shipping_cost is defined as "standard shipping cost for 1 medication". On 19 October 2026 that figure was $5.25 for 2,338 of its 2,383 listed items; 45 cold-chain items carried $55 shipping and a $15 dispensing fee instead of $5. The $5 dispensing fee is part of every Cost Plus drug price, delivery or not. So a single generic such as sildenafil 100 mg, 30 tablets, is $6.69 before shipping and $11.94 shipped (API, 19 October 2026). The API does not state a combined-order rate, so the honest budget for three separately shipped prescriptions is $15.75 in shipping.
Walgreens offers three speeds on its prescription delivery page (Same Day, 2 to 3 business days, and 5 to 10 business days ship-to-home) and answers "How much does the Walgreens prescription delivery service cost?" with one sentence: "Delivery fees vary by location." You choose the speed at checkout and see the fee there. Walgreens' strength is reach: same-day delivery from a store network, with the speed picked per order.
FuzeRx and NimbleRx publish no delivery fee. FuzeRx offers "same-day courier delivery and pick up from our pharmacy locations across the country" and home delivery of fertility medications to all 50 states; NimbleRx, which works with independent pharmacies, lets you "schedule discreet delivery or in-store pickup", and its delivery policy covers signatures and returns but not price.
CVS and Costco could not be read: every CVS delivery page we requested on 19 October 2026 returned an error, and Costco's pharmacy delivery link opens an app that loads only in a browser and showed no delivery terms. We do not estimate either fee.
The order of operations is the whole problem for a reader with several prescriptions. A fee charged per delivery stays flat as prescriptions are added; a fee charged per medication grows with each one; a fee shown only at checkout cannot be compared until the cart is built. The drawing above shows the first two; the third is the dashed bars.
Three subscriptions change the delivery price, and each one is published on the retailer's own page:
We could not read CVS's pages on 19 October 2026, so whether any CVS membership changes prescription delivery is not stated here.
If you already pay for Prime or Walmart+, delivery is free; if you do not, Amazon Pharmacy and Capsule are the two routes that are free without any membership.
Rite Aid no longer fills prescriptions. Its own pharmacy page says "When locations closed, prescriptions were transferred to nearby pharmacies", typically Walgreens, CVS or local independents, and tells former customers to check a bottle label for the new pharmacy's name. The site's assistant lists pharmacy services as returning, with no date given. If you had Rite Aid delivery, your prescription now lives at another pharmacy, and that pharmacy's delivery terms apply.
Alto Pharmacy still exists under a new name: "Alto Pharmacy is now operating under its new name and brand, FuzeRx, the pharmacy of Fuze Health." Same-day courier delivery continues from its pharmacy locations, with no published fee.
The fine print decides more readers than the fee does:
Medicare beneficiaries can use Amazon Pharmacy and Capsule with Part D; for what a Part D plan covers, see our sister site OmniRx.
Three or more generics, Prime member, outside CA and WA
Amazon RxPass
Every eligible generic plus delivery for $5 a month total. Check each drug is on the RxPass list first.
Paying cash, can plan a month ahead
Cost Plus Drugs
Published drug prices plus $5.25 shipping per medication. Order everything on one day and the drug prices usually outweigh the shipping.
Insured, wants it free and at home
Amazon Pharmacy or Capsule
Both publish free delivery and calculate your copay; Capsule adds same-day where it operates.
Already shops at Walmart or Sam's Club
Walmart+ or Sam's Plus delivery
Walmart's $9.95 fee covers a whole drop and is waived for Walmart+; Sam's delivers same day and Plus members get free delivery on named offers.
1. What is the delivery fee for this order, in dollars, before I confirm? 2. Is that fee per delivery or per prescription? 3. Are all my prescriptions on your list, or will some ship separately? 4. Do you deliver to my address (ZIP, state, P.O. box)? 5. Do you need my insurance card, or is this a cash order? 6. If I need it today, what does same-day delivery cost?
To compare what the medicines themselves cost at each pharmacy, use the RxGrab pharmacy finder, which lists every published program price for 751 drugs. For the broader trade-off between mail order and a local counter, see mail order vs retail pharmacy; for which chains publish drug prices at all, see which pharmacies publish their cash prices.
| Pharmacy | What it publishes about delivery | Status | Read |
|---|---|---|---|
| "Free delivery to your door"; delivers "to physical addresses in all 50 US states"; same-day cost shown in your Pharmacy Dashboard | Free | 19 Oct 2026 | |
| "$5 a month, no matter how many meds you take"; "Fast, free delivery to your door"; Prime required | Published | 19 Oct 2026 | |
| "Free, same-day prescription delivery"; "Capsule is free to use. You only pay your copay"; ZIP check | Free | 19 Oct 2026 | |
| "Save the $9.95 delivery fee with Walmart+"; "no order minimum fees"; refrigerated Rx including insulin delivered | Published | 19 Oct 2026 | |
| Mark Cuban Cost Plus Drugs | Pricing API: standard shipping $5.25 for one medication; $5 cash dispensing fee per medication; cold-chain items $55 shipping and a $15 fee | Published | 19 Oct 2026 |
| "Sam's Pharmacy can deliver eligible meds to your door the same day"; "Free delivery for Plus members" on its GLP-1 offers | Members | 19 Oct 2026 | |
| Same Day, 2 to 3 business days, or 5 to 10 business days ship-to-home; "Delivery fees vary by location" | At checkout | 19 Oct 2026 | |
| "Same-day courier delivery and pick up from our pharmacy locations across the country"; no fee stated | Not stated | 19 Oct 2026 | |
| "Schedule discreet delivery or in-store pickup"; delivery policy (updated 14 July 2025) states no fee | Not stated | 19 Oct 2026 | |
| Every CVS prescription-delivery page we requested returned an error (HTTP 503 or 404); no fee confirmed | Not read | 19 Oct 2026 | |
| Pharmacy delivery redirects to an app (rx.costco.com) that loads only in a browser and showed no delivery terms on 19 Oct 2026 | Not read | 19 Oct 2026 | |
| Rite Aid | "When locations closed, prescriptions were transferred to nearby pharmacies"; pharmacy services listed as returning, with no date | Closed | 19 Oct 2026 |
Quoted text is from each pharmacy's own page, linked in the first column, read on 19 October 2026. Cost Plus figures are from its public pricing API the same day. A pharmacy's delivery fee can differ by address, speed and order; the table records what each one publishes, not what any one order will cost.
How we built this page: we read each pharmacy's own delivery and pharmacy pages and the Mark Cuban Cost Plus Drugs pricing API on 19 October 2026, and cite each figure where it appears. We did not order prescriptions or use these delivery services for this page; where a fee is only shown after sign-in or at checkout, we say so rather than estimate it. Pages that returned an error are named as unread, not as free or as charging.
The finding is reproducible from the table: count the rows marked Free or Published among the 10 pharmacies that deliver (Rite Aid excluded) and you get 4, with Sam's Club's members-only offer counted separately. The Cost Plus shipping figure is the difference between the API's shipped and unshipped prices for each item, which matches the documented cash_shipping_cost field. More on our sourcing rules in our methodology; Cost Plus's own model is reviewed in our Cost Plus Drugs review.
Amazon Pharmacy publishes free standard delivery to physical addresses in all 50 US states, and Capsule publishes free same-day delivery in the areas it serves. Walmart waives its $9.95 prescription delivery fee for Walmart+ members, and Amazon RxPass includes free delivery in its $5 monthly subscription for Prime members (pharmacy pages read 19 October 2026).
Walmart's pharmacy page says Walmart+ members "Save the $9.95 delivery fee", so non-members pay $9.95 per delivery. It adds that eligible prescriptions can be delivered the same day with no order minimum fees (walmart.com, read 19 October 2026).
Cost Plus Drugs' public pricing API lists standard shipping of $5.25 for one medication on 2,338 of its 2,383 items, on top of a $5 dispensing fee per medication. Its 45 cold-chain items carry $55 shipping and a $15 fee. The API does not state a combined-order rate (read 19 October 2026).
Walgreens offers same-day, 2 to 3 business day and 5 to 10 business day prescription delivery, and its delivery page says only that "Delivery fees vary by location"; the fee is shown when you choose delivery at checkout (walgreens.com, read 19 October 2026).
No. Amazon's RxPass page says people with state-funded insurance such as Medicaid and CHIP are not eligible, and that RxPass is not currently available to send medications to California and Washington. Amazon Pharmacy itself still delivers in all 50 states (pharmacy.amazon.com/rxpass, read 19 October 2026).
No. Rite Aid's pharmacy page says that when its locations closed, prescriptions were transferred to nearby pharmacies, typically Walgreens, CVS or local independents, and lists pharmacy services as coming back without a date (riteaid.com, read 19 October 2026).
We have not started sending yet. Join the list and we will only email when we do.